slow & sudden miracles

Hello again! I should be doing my readings (which I neglected over the weekend because I thought this week was spring break WHOOPS) but Everything Everywhere All At Once swept the Oscars and I am full of emotions so here we are.

My book These Deathless Shores has been acquired by Orbit!

Photo credit: Reno GOT Photography

All children, except one, grow up. But what happens when you leave Neverland behind?

Orbit is delighted to announce we’ve acquired a gorgeous, devastating Peter Pan-inspired fantasy from debut author P. H. Low! These Deathless Shores is a richly imagined, gender-bent retelling of Captain Hook’s origin story set in a world reminiscent of Southeast Asia, perfect for fans of Jade City and dark fairytales. In this propulsive and twisty debut, the Lost Boys are all grown up, and they want revenge.

Jordan was once a Lost Boy, convinced she would never grow up. Now, she’s twenty-two and exiled to the real world, still suffering withdrawal from the addictive magic Dust of her childhood. With nothing left to lose, Jordan returns to the Island and its stories—of pirates and war and the cruelty of youth—intent on facing Peter one last time, on her own terms.

If that makes her the villain… so be it.

And you can add it on Goodreads!

I’ve written before about the length of this journey. But there are also the alternate universes haunting my periphery in which none of this happens. There are the times I almost left this project behind, or considered changing it in ways that would have compromised my original vision in ways I would have regretted. The time I weighed a Book of the Month debut fantasy novel in my hand and thought, Mine would have been about this size. And I don’t want to claim that every rejection, every disappointment has led me to this moment, because I still sense so many other lives pressed paper-thin against mine in which it does not. (If there is one thing I have learned from waiting, and from getting to know a bunch of phenomenal writers through Pitch Wars and Viable Paradise, it is that publishing is not a meritocracy.) But I’m grateful to be here. Grateful for the opportunity to return to these characters. Grateful for people who see a place for my story in the world.

I promised last time that I would share a bit about my querying journey! Here’s a summary of the responses I received from agents for my most recent round of queries:

  • Wasn’t quite on board with the premise (3)

  • Wanted more character development (1)

  • World was more steampunk/SF than they found themself drawn to in adult fantasy (1)

  • Client project too similar (1)

  • Latter half of the book felt too slow compared to the beginning; not a fan of the flashbacks (1)

  • Wanted POVs more streamlined (1)

  • Form rejection (~12)

  • No response (~15)

And then the version I queried got sold to Orbit :) I’d been told publishing was extremely subjective, but this (in addition to getting critiqued in MFA workshop, because everyone truly has as different opinion) really drove it home for me.

Speaking of which, the very first story I workshopped in my MFA program is now free to read online at Fantasy Magazine! It’s about classical music, fickle gods, and chronic pain, but I’m inordinately pleased to say there is also bagel involvement. And a laundromat.

What I’ve been reading lately:

  1. Bitter Medicine by Mia Tsai (HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY!!!!)

I absolutely loved this mashup of European and Asian mythology! Two very tired people processing their work trauma (and there is so much work trauma) while learning to take care of themselves and each other in the most lovely, angsty, and sometimes spicy way. Also: a challenging of the Kekonese monopoly on bioenergetic jade, Luc’s boss giving Richard Lovell vibes, and some hilarious and kind supporting characters.

You can order Bitter Medicine here!

  1. World Running Down by Al Hess

I need more people to read this so I can put Tumblr fanart in my eyeballs. World Running Down has so many feelings about embodiment and gender; I love the found family and the cozy dystopia world it’s set in (in which certain governmental bodies…actually work?), and Valentine’s and Osric’s relationship is just. (Cue incoherent sobbing.)

World Running Down came out last month—you can get it here!

And here is another Spot for you! Check out those feets.

Thanks again for reading!

All the best,

Phoebe